Belgium- Brussels Capital Region

Name of organisation 

Brussels Animal Welfare Council ('Brusselse Raad voor Dierenwelzijn') ('Conseil bruxellois du Bien-être animal')




Scope/ Mission statement

When the competence of animal welfare was devolved to the regions by the 6th State Reform, separate animal welfare councils were set up to advise the respective ministers of the Flemish, Walloon and Brussels Capital regions. Requests for advice in the Brussels Capital Region are initiated by the minister, the department of Animal Welfare of Brussels Environment or the Council itself. The advices are not legally binding, but provide relevant analyses, leads and guidelines for current and future Brussels animal welfare policy and (legislative) actions.

The Brussels Council is made up of 15 members, being representatives of animal protection organizations (2), animal shelters (2), breeders’ associations (2), professional veterinary associations (3), civil society (1) and association of the city and municipalities of the Brussels Capital Region (1), and 4 scientific experts who constitute the Executive Committee. The Council's administration is run by staff of the department of Animal Welfare of Brussels Environment (gouvernmental administration of the Brussels Capital Region).

Working methods
The Council has 6 bimonthly meetings and the possibility to have extra meetings in between, as necessary. These meetings are always prepared in advance during a separate meeting of the Executive Committee. The Council may also set up working groups to investigate specialist subjects in greater depth. External experts may be invited to take part in these working groups, by their chairmen. Working groups prepare a document or advice, which the Council then discusses, if necessary amends, and approves. Once approved, advices are filed with the minister, then put forward for publication.

Contact details

Link to website

Dutch (NL):

French (FR):