Membership is confined to those bodies within Europe that are established by national Governments to provide strategic and other advice about animal welfare. Membership of the forum is open to all European countries that belong to the Council of Europe.


If an advisory Council has not been established, then a representative of the Government Department with responsibility for animal welfare is invited to attend as an observer. The Council of Europe, the OIE, the European Commission, the European Food Safety Authority and New Zealand are also invited to attend each meeting as observers.